EH Smith Handed 11th Consecutive RoSPA Gold Award

13 Apr 18
Awarded in recognition of its health and safety practices

13 April 2018

EH Smith (Builders Merchants) Ltd has achieved a President’s (11 consecutive Golds) in the internationally-renowned RoSPA Health and Safety Awards, the longest-running industry awards scheme in the UK.

They will be presented with the award during a ceremony at Hilton Birmingham Metropole hotel on Thursday, July 5, 2018.

The RoSPA Awards scheme, which receives entries from organisations around the world, recognises achievement in health and safety management systems, including practices such as leadership and workforce involvement.

Greg Crofts, EH Smith’s Health, Safety and Compliance Manager, said: “Receiving the President’s award for achieving a gold standard in health and safety for 11 years running is a magnificent achievement and is testament to the commitment towards health and safety for and by the whole of the EH Smith team. However, we won’t be resting on our laurels as we continually strive to improve. Our aim is to gain the RoSPA Order of distinction, or even the Patrons award, the highest possible recognition of a company’s commitment to health and safety. It will take us a few more years yet, but it would be a superb achievement for us and would put us alongside major brands like Esso, Coca Cola and 3M.”

Julia Small, RoSPA’s head of qualifications, awards and events, said: “The RoSPA Awards are the most highly-respected in the health and safety arena, with almost 2,000 entrants every year, and allow organisations to prove excellence in the workplace, demonstrating a commitment to the wellbeing of not only employees but all those who interact with it.”

The majority of awards are non-competitive and mark achievement at merit, bronze, silver and gold levels. Gold medals, president’s awards, orders of distinction and the Patron’s Award are presented to organisations sustaining the high standards of the gold level over consecutive years.

Competitive awards go to the best entries in 24 industry sectors including construction, healthcare, transport and logistics, engineering, manufacturing and education.

There are specialist awards for health at work, environmental management and fleet safety, and excellence trophies for the best international, new entry, workforce involvement and organisation operating or based in Scotland. RoSPA’s top accolade is the Sir George Earle Trophy.

Headline sponsor of the RoSPA Awards 2018 is NEBOSH – the National Examination Board in Occupational Safety and Health – for the 13th consecutive year.

For more information about the RoSPA Awards visit